Best Served Cold was the book that stole my wallet.

– What now? Was it that expensive?

– Well, no, it wasn’t exactly expensive or anything. Heck, it’s so cheap that I even bought two of ’em.

– So what’s your point, then?

– If you can just shuddup a second, I’ll get to it:

When I visited Oslo in June, it was solely so that I could get a copy of Best Served Cold by Joe Abercombie. I go in to greater detail about what happened next in this post right here, but the gist of it is that on my way to the signing, my wallet got nicked.

– Huh, that’s unlucky. So what did you, then?

– I got my damned book signed, that’s what I did! And then then I went to the police.

But enough about me, let’s talk about the book. ‘Cause it damn well deserves it.

Best Served Cold is fantasy novel set in the same world as Abercrombie’s debut trilogy, The First Law. If you want to, you can read my reviews of the books of that trilogy by pressing the links to book 1, book 2 and book 3, but the long and short of it is that The First Law fuckin’ rocked.

So the question becomes, does Best Served Cold rock equally hard? And the answer is: Kinda, yeah.

But not quite.

Here, let me elaborate:

Best Served Cold is – surprise, surprise – a story of revenge, heaped with revenge and some similar tasting side-dishes of betrayal, disloyalty and a good helping of old fashioned backstabbing. The book begins with introducing the main character, a very successful mercenary captain called Monzacarro, and then we get to find out why (and how) she wants to exact revenge on some very powerful people.

So bascially it’s a medievalesque version of Kill Bill, only the story is told with a motley crew of fascinating side-characters. Some of these characters are old favourites, like “Shivers” and “Nicomo Cosca”, others are people only referenced in the First Law trilogy and some are, of course, factory fresh.

Best Served Cold is without a doubt an enjoyable book, and was well worth getting my wallet stolen over (well, not really, but you get my point). Abercrombie has a knack for coming up with entertaining characters that keeps the book pumping way, and the dialogue is fine as well. It’s also very dark and humorous, and I never felt like putting the book away, which is a rarity.

However. And yes, there is a however. In fact, there are many.

I was expecting more, and I was expecting something a little more daring.

That may be unfair to Joe Abercrombie. His first books were fairly successful and critically lauded, so he came up with a new enough theme and setting and went to work. And that’s fine, really. It’s just that I had hoped to see this book try to stretch his storytelling abilities even further than it did ( though it’s by no means a simplistic book). I wish he could’ve found a way to make the “vengeance” theme new again, in stead of writing a helluva good, but seemingly a bit run-of-the-mill variant on what we’ve so often seen before.

But that’s wishing for a different book, and is most certainly unfair to Joe, so I’ll quiet down now. It’s not his fault that I have no great affection for a good vengeance story, especially if they’re done in such an earnest manner as here. I love Kill Bill vol. 1, but that’s because it feels like romp, even though it’s incredibly dark and twisted. Kill Bill vol. 2 lost some of that charm, and made a go for earnest, and that’s why vol. 1 is the superior movie.

I also question whether the secondary world setting for such a story is optimal. It no doubt works, but I can’t help but feel like it would’ve carried more punch if set in the Real World. Fantasy & Science Fiction are genres often best utilized when used to tell stories that translate back to what we see around us, but the stories are often of such a nature that they require a different world to be told. Not that you can’t tell any story short of epic in SFF – that’s not what I’m saying – it’s just that I don’t see why Best Served Cold is a fantasy book. It would’ve carried much more punch if it wasn’t.

But make no mistake; this is a good book. Best Served Cold is about a woman who needs to kill some powerful men, and if you want to read Abercrombies iteration on that, I heartily welcome you to. It’s the best fantasy book of 2009 so far. Not that that says as much as you’d think.

8.0/10